Fully Remove Avast — How to Completely Uninstall Avast AntiVirus From Your Computer

George Berrios
2 min readMay 15, 2020

--

Yesterday, one of my friend complained to me that she couldn’t install her new antivirus after she uninstalled Avast AntiVirus from Control Panel Add/ Remove Programs. She downloaded Avast uninstall utility but still no luck! But finally I helped her completely uninstall Avast without sending to the repair shop. Now follow up my steps now!

Uninstall Avast AntiVirus through Windows Add/ Remove Programs

First of all, I reinstalled Avast AntiVirus so that I could uninstall Avast with Windows Add/ Remove Programs.

  1. Reboot the computer and press F8 Key
  2. select Safe Mode with Arror keys and hit Enter Key
  3. Click Start menu and then Control Panel
  4. Double click Add/ Remove Porgrams and navigate Avast
  5. Click “Remove” to uninstall it.

But I could still see Alwil folder after uninstalling Avast in Add/ Remove Programs. Without Add/ Remove Programs, I had to edit and delete its registry entries. But the chances are I don’t even know where its registry entries are and what registry entries belong to Avast. If I delete the registry entries of other programs, it would create more troubles for her. So I searched for many uninstall tools and compared their functions. Finally we decided to remove Avast with Perfect Uninstaller, for it can force uninstall Avast.

Force Uninstall Avast AntiVirus with Perfect Uninstaller

Perfect Uninstaller can forcibly uninstall any corrupted and half-uninstalled programs that Windows Add/ Remove Programs can’t. And it can backup and restore our registry before uninstalling, which greatly reduces the risk of messing up system registry. Its powerful scan engine can fully detect and remove all associated files, which saves us lots of time and trouble.

Finally, my friend fully removed Avast and installed her new antivirus. More funny is that she uninstalled other programs that Control Panel didn’t completely uninstall before.

More my guides you can find here.

In the last few years, Avast sells data of its users to third parties.

Many tech-magazines, which conducted own investigations, accused Avast of selling users’ data (for example safetydetectives, techradar, pcmag). Even the users themselves noticed that they could not disable surveillance of their activity in the Avast apps. Therefore, we do not recommend to use Avast products (more in our review of Avast antivirus).

Nevertheless, act at your own risk.

--

--